Khichdi Online - just about everything

Current Affairs: 19th April 2015

Category : All, Current Affairs · by Apr 20th, 2015

1- Three Indian race walkers qualify for 2016 Rio Olympics

Three Indian race walkers qualify for 2016 Rio Olympics

2016 Rio Olympics

Three Indian race walkers Khushbir Kaur, Manish Rawat and Sandeep Kumar have qualified for 2016 Rio Olympics. In the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Race Walking Challenge held at Rio Maiorin Portugal, National women’s 20km walk record holder Khushbir Kaur clocked 1 hour 33 minute and 58 seconds below the Rio Oympic qualification time of 1 hour and 35 minutes. In the men’s 20km race walk event Manish Rawat and Sandeep Kumar qualified for Rio Games. In this event, Manish Rawat logged his personal best performance with a timing of 1 hour 22 minutes and Sandeep Kumar clocked 1 hour 23 minute and 32 seconds. Both of them performed above the Rio Oympic qualification time of 1 hour and 24 minutes.

2- President Pranab Mukherjee inaugurates centenary celebration of Patna High Court

President signs ordinance amending Citizenship Act, 1955

President of India

The centenary celebration of Patna High Court was inaugurated on 18 April 2015 by President Pranab Mukherjee. He also released a commemorative postage stamp on this occasion to mark HC’s glorious judicial history. Bihar Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi was in the chair and Chief Justice of India (CJI) H.L. Dattu was guest of the honour on this occasion. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Union Law Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda and Union IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad also had attended the function.

Facts about Patna High Court

On 1 December 1913, then Viceroy of India, Lord Charles Hardine had laid the foundation stone of the existing Patna High Court building. On 3 February 1916, the building was formally opened by Lord Hardine. The court had started functioning with a chief justice and 6 judges under the provisions of Government of India Act 1915. At present it has sanctioned strength of 43 judges. Rajendra Prasad, India’s first President and Sachchidanand Sinha, first president of the constituent assembly also had practised at this court. 3 Chief Justices from Patna High Court went on to become the Chief Justice of India (CJI). They are Justice B.P. Sinha (6th CJI), Justice Lalit Mohan Sharma (24th CJI) and Justice Rajendra Mal Lodha (41st CJI).

3- Dr. Nasim Zaidi takes over as Chief Election Commissioner

Dr. Nasim Zaidi takes over as Chief Election Commissioner

Dr. Nasim Zaidi

Dr Nasim Zaidi on 19 April 2015 assumed the charge as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). He is India’s 20th CEC and succeeded Hari Shankar Brahma, who had retired on April 18, 2015. At present, Dr Zaidi will be the sole member of the three-member Election Commission till the government fills up the two vacant posts of election commissioners. Dr Zaidi will have tenure of two years i.e. till he attains the age of 65 in July 2017.

About Dr. Nasim Zaidi

Nasim Zaidi is a 1976 batch IAS officer from the Uttar Pradesh cadre. He had served as the Director General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). He had retired from IAS as Secretary to the Union Government in Ministry of Civil Aviation in July 2012.

About Chief Election Commissioner (CEC)

As per the provisions of Article 324 of Constitution, Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners are appointed by the President. They hold office for the term of 6 years or until they attain age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from office only through impeachment by Parliament.

4- Lewis Hamilton wins Bahrain Grand Prix of Formula One

Lewis Hamilton wins Bahrain Grand Prix of Formula One

Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes Formula 1 driver Lewis Hamilton from Britain on 19 April 2015 won Bahrain Grand Prix of Formula One on the Sakhir Grand Prix Circuit. This was his third win of the season and his second Bahrain Grand Prix win. It was also Lewis Hamilton’s overall 36th Grand Prix win. In Bahrain Grand Prix, Hamilton was followed by Ferrari F1 driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany to the second position.

Other Rankings

  • Mercedes F1 driver Nico Rosberg (Germany) and Valtteri Bottas (Finland) of Williams took third and fourth places respectively.
  • Sebastian Vettel (Germany) of Ferrari and Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) of Red Bull Team were placed at fifth and sixth places.
  • Romain Grosjean (France) of Lotus team and Sergio Perez (Italy) of Force India Team were placed at seventh and eight places.
  • Daniil Kvyat (Russia) of Red Bull Team was placed at ninth position.
  • Felipe Massa (Brazil) of Williams team finished at tenth position.

5- India’s Y Pranjala wins Asian Junior Tennis title

India’s Y Pranjala has won the Asian Junior Tennis championship title on 18 April 2015. In the final match played at New Delhi she defeated China’s Zheng Wushuang with a 5-7, 6-2, 7-5 scoreline. She also had won the Asian Junior Tennis doubles title along with partner Zheng Wushuang on 17 April 2015. Presently, Pranjala is coached by former Davis Cup player Ilyas Ghouse and trains at GVK Tennis Academy in Hyderabad, Telangana.

Like this post? Comment here !! Or have something to share? Write to us:

Read More


























































#Current Affairs  JANUARY , FEBRUARY ,  MARCH – Date-wise  |  2015


#Current Affairs May 2015


Don't be Selfish :) Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.